Training

Foster Caregivers are required to complete 30 hours of training annually. Training is offered on a variety of topics that are integral in allowing caregivers to meet the needs of any behaviors displayed by youth in the home.

Please contact Karla at Homes for Kids, Inc. at (330) 544-8005 ext. 414 or by email at karla@hfk.org for training registration or to confirm dates, times, and location of training.

 

Current Pre-service Trainings

Monday  6-12-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #1  Introduction to Treatment Foster Care

Monday  6-19-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #2  Programs of Homes for Kids

Monday  6-26-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #3  Effects of Abuse and Neglect

Thursday  7-6-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #4  Effects of Placement, Attachment and Separation

Saturday 7-8-17  10:00 am-1:00 pm  Pre-service #5  Types of Children in Treatment Foster Care

Saturday 7-8-17  1:00 pm-3:00 pm  Pre-service #6  Communicable Disease

Monday 7-10-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #7  PAARR

Wednesday  7-12-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #8  Cultural Diversity

Monday  7-24-17  6:00 pm-8:00 pm  Pre-service #10  Surrogate Parenting

Saturday  7-29-17  10:00 am-3:00 pm  Pre-service #11 ODJFS Rules and HFK Policies (lunch provided)

 

Foster Parent Trainings

Saturday June 24, 2017 Managing the Hurt with Kathy Lowery from 9-12Pm (childcare offered)

Saturday July 15, 2017 The Art of Natural & Logical Consequences with John Ward from 9-12PM (childcare)

Thursday July 27, 2017 Foster Families & They Grow with Brian Lowery from 6-9PM (childcare)

Tuesday August 15, 2017 6-9Pm

Thursday August 24, 2017 6-9Pm

Tuesday September 5, 2017 6-9pm

Friday September 15, 2017 9Am-12Pm No childcare

Tuesday September 26, 2017 6-9pm

Friday October 6, 2017 9Am-12Pm  No childcare

Tuesday October 17, 2017 6-9pm

Thursday October 26, 2017  6-9Pm

Saturday November 11, 2017 9Am-12Pm

Friday  November 17, 2017 9Am-12Pm No childcare

Tuesday December 5, 2017 6-9pm

Thursday December 14, 2017 6-9pm

 
 
 

Directions to Foster Care/Training Building

Parking and Entrance are in the rear of the building across from Dairy Queen

View Larger Map