Training

Foster Caregivers are required to complete 30 hours of training annually. Training is offered on a variety of topics that are integral in allowing caregivers to meet the needs of any behaviors displayed by youth in the home.

Please contact Karla at Homes for Kids, Inc. at (330) 544-8005 ext. 414 or by email at karla@hfk.org for training registration or to confirm dates, times, and location of training.

 

Current Pre-service Trainings

Saturday  7-29-17  10:00 am-3:00 pm  Pre-service #11 ODJFS Rules and HFK Policies (lunch provided)

Monday 8-7-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #1  Introduction to Treatment Foster Care

Wednesday  8-9-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #2  Programs of Homes for Kids

Wednesday 8-23-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #3  Effects of Abuse and Neglect

Monday  8-28-17   6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #4  Effects of Placement, Attachment and Separation

Wednesday 9-6-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #5  Types of Children in Treatment Foster Care

Monday  9-11-17  7:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #6  Communicable Disease

Wednesday 9-20-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #7  PAARR

Wednesday 9-27-17  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #8  Cultural Diversity

Saturday  9-30-17  10:00 am-3:00 pm  Pre-service #11  ODJFS Rules and HFK Policies (lunch provided)

Monday  10-2-17  6:00 pm-8:00 pm  Pre-service #10 Surrogate Parent

 

 

Foster Parent Trainings

Saturday June 24, 2017 Managing the Hurt with Kathy Lowery from 9-12Pm (childcare offered)

Saturday July 15, 2017 The Art of Natural & Logical Consequences with John Ward from 9-12PM (childcare)

Thursday July 27, 2017 Foster Families & They Grow with Brian Lowery from 6-9PM (childcare)

Tuesday August 15, 2017 from 6-9PM Total Time Management for Foster Parents with Presidential Consultants (Childcare available)

 

Thursday August 24, 2017 from 6-9PM Educational Advocacy with Ronna Johnson (childcare available)

 

Tuesday September 5, 2017 from 6-9pm “Almost” Frazzled Free Parenting with John Ward  with Childcare
 
Wednesday September 20, 2017 9AM-12PM OR 6-9PM Trauma Informed Care with Amber-Stiles Bodnar Childcare for evening training (MANDATORY) choose a time
 
Tuesday September 26, 2017 from 6-9pm Foster Families & How They Grow with Brian Lowery with Childcare

Friday October 6, 2017 9Am-12Pm  No childcare

Tuesday October 17, 2017 6-9pm

Thursday October 26, 2017  6-9Pm

Saturday November 11, 2017 9Am-12Pm

Friday  November 17, 2017 9Am-12Pm No childcare

Tuesday December 5, 2017 6-9pm

Thursday December 14, 2017 6-9pm

 
 
 

Directions to Foster Care/Training Building

Parking and Entrance are in the rear of the building across from Dairy Queen

View Larger Map