Training

Foster Caregivers are required to complete 30 hours of training annually. Training is offered on a variety of topics that are integral in allowing caregivers to meet the needs of any behaviors displayed by youth in the home.

Please contact Karla at Homes for Kids, Inc. at (330) 544-8005 ext. 1414 or by email at karla@hfk.org for training registration or to confirm dates, times, and location of training.

 

Current Pre-service Trainings

Tuesday 8-7-18  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #1 Introduction to Treatment Foster Care

Wednesday  8-15-18   6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #2  Programs of Homes for Kids

Wednesday 8-22-18  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #3  Effects of Abuse and Neglect

Wednesday  8-29-18   6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #4  Effects of Placement, Attachment and Separation

Wednesday 9-5-18 6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #5  Types of Children in Treatment Foster Care

Wednesday 9-12-18 6:00 pm-8:00 pm   Pre-service #6  Communicable Disease

Monday  9-17-18  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #7  PAARR

Wednesday  9-26-18  6:00 pm-9:00 pm  Pre-service #8  Cultural Diversity

Wednesday  10-3-18  6:00 pm-8:00 pm  Pre-service #10  Surrogate Parent

Saturday  10-13-18  10:00 am-3:00 pm  Pre-service #11  ODJFS Rules and HFK Policies

 
 

Foster Parent Trainings

Thursday June 7, 2018 From Bullying to Befriending, Changing the Culture of Bullying with Presidential Consultants from 6-9pm (childcare)

Tuesday June 26, 2018 Substance Abuse, Chemical Dependency & Kids from 6-9pm (childcare) Tuesday July 10, 2018 Boundaries With Kids with John Ward from 6-9pm (childcare)

Thursday July 26, 2018 Sibling Relationships in Foster Care: Keep Them Connected with Dee Dee Prezioso from 6-9pm (childcare)

Tuesday August 14, 2018 Confronting Conflict with John Ward from 6-9pm (childcare)

Tuesday August 28, 2018 Advancing Sexual Safety & Promoting Healing in Foster care with Brian Lowery from 6-9pm (childcare)

Wednesday 10/10/18  6-9pm childcare

Friday 10/26/18  9-12pm no childcare
 
Friday 11/2/18  9-12pm no childcare
 
Tuesday 11/13/18  6-9pm childcare
 
Friday 12/7/18  9-12pm no childcare
 
 
 

Directions to Foster Care/Training Building

Parking and Entrance are in the rear of the building across from Dairy Queen

View Larger Map